Jill’s Friday Kindle Steals

Bargain Reads

(NB This post features Affiliate links from which I earn a small commission on qualifying purchases)

Forever Young: A Memoir by [Hayley Mills]

Forever Young by Hayley Mills

What happens when a girl tries to grow up in a world where everyone wants her to remain a child?

Hayley Mills’ teenage decade in Hollywood produced some of the era’s greatest coming-of-age family movies: classics like PollyannaThe Parent Trap and In Search of the Castaways, and in Britain the acclaimed Whistle Down the Wind. These films made Hayley a genuine teen idol and a household name. Now and for the first time, Hayley reveals the truth of her own coming-of-age story, in her own words – a story of incredible twists of fate and fortune, but also mismanagement, bankruptcy, family crisis and dislocation.

Told with characteristic warmth, honesty and humour, Hayley takes us back in time to a bygone era, charting a journey from her carefree childhood innocence in post-war Britain, growing up in the shadow of her famous theatrical family, to being propelled into the Technicolor boomtown of 1960s Hollywood, where she is mentored to stardom by Walt Disney himself.


Her New Best Friend by Penny Batchelor

Mum-of-two Audrey is horrified when during a moment of distraction in the park, her pram with baby Wilfred in it rolls down the hill and into a pond. Fortunately for her, Claire Jones is nearby and rescues Wilfred, soothing Audrey and daughter Antonia with coffee and cake in a nearby café. No harm is done.

However, the frightening experience dents Audrey’s confidence and she replays the events over and over, convinced she can’t have forgotten to put the brake on. To make matters worse she keeps spotting a shadowy figure everywhere she goes and becomes sure that someone is stalking her.

Audrey’s fears are escalating when a catastrophic reaction to a bee sting sends her into a coma – and into hospital – but once again her new best friend is on hand to step in.

Does Claire really have Audrey’s best interests at heart?

And if not, why has she inserted herself so cleverly into Audrey’s life?

Will Audrey ever recover?

And will her real friends be able uncover the truth before it is too late?

A twisting tale of intrigue and deception – and of what happens when your worst nightmare comes true.


The Good Sister: The gripping domestic page-turner perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty by [Sally Hepworth]

The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth

‘There’s only been one time that Rose couldn’t stop me from doing the wrong thing and that was a mistake that will haunt me for the rest of my life.’

Fern Castle works in her local library. She has dinner with her twin sister Rose three nights a week. And she avoids crowds, bright lights and loud noises as much as possible. Fern has a carefully structured life and disrupting her routine can be . . . dangerous.

When Rose discovers that she cannot fall pregnant, Fern sees her chance to pay her sister back for everything Rose has done for her. Fern can have a baby for Rose. She just needs to find a father. Simple.

Fern’s mission will shake the foundations of the life she has carefully built for herself and stir up dark secrets that she long thought were buried.


The Pact: A dark and compulsive thriller about secrets, privilege and revenge by [Sharon Bolton]

The Pact by Sharon Bolton

A golden summer, and six talented friends are looking forward to the brightest of futures – until a daredevil game goes horribly wrong, and a woman and two children are killed.

18-year-old Megan takes the blame, leaving the others free to get on with their lives. In return, they each agree to a ‘favour’, payable on her release from prison.

Twenty years later Megan is free.
Let the games begin . . .


Trust Me: The biggest thriller of the year from the million copy selling author of THE HOLIDAY and THE CATCH by [T.M. Logan]

Trust Me by T M Logan

TWO STRANGERS. A CHILD. AND A SPLIT SECOND CHOICE THAT WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING.

The chance encounter

Ellen was just trying to help a stranger. Giving a few minutes respite to a flustered young mother sitting opposite her on the train. A few minutes holding her baby while the woman makes an urgent call.

Five minutes pass.
Ten.

The twist

As the train pulls into a station, Ellen is stunned to see the woman step off the train and rush away down the platform, leaving her baby behind.

Then she discovers a note in the baby’s bag, three desperate lines scrawled hastily on a piece of paper:

Please protect Mia
Don’t trust the police
Don’t trust anyone

WHAT WOULD YOU DO?


An Eye for an Eye (Detective Kate Young Book 1) by [Carol Wyer]

An Eye For an Eye by Carol Wyer

A killer running rings around the police. A detective spiralling out of control.

DI Kate Young is on leave. She’s the force’s best detective, but her bosses know she’s under pressure, on medication and overcoming trauma. So after her bad judgement call leads to a narrowly averted public disaster, they’re sure all she needs is a rest.

But when Staffordshire Police summon her back to work on a murder case, it’s a harder, more suspicious Kate Young who returns. With a new ruthlessness, she sets about tracking down a clinical, calculating serial killer who is torturing victims and leaving clues to taunt the police. Spurred on by her reporter husband, Young begins to suspect that the murderer might be closer than she ever imagined.

As she works to uncover the truth, Young unravels a network of secrets and lies, with even those closest to her having something to hide. But with her own competence—and her grip on reality—called into question, can she unmask the killer before they strike again?


Memoirs of a Geisha: The Literary Sensation and Runaway Bestseller (Vintage 21st Anniv Editions) by [Arthur Golden]

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

A seductive and evocative epic told on an intimate scale.

Summoning up more than twenty years of Japan’s most dramatic history, Memoirs of a Geisha uncovers a hidden world of eroticism and enchantment, exploitation and degradation.

From a small fishing village in 1929, the tale moves to the glamorous and decadent heart of Kyoto in the 1930s, where a young peasant girl is sold as servant and apprentice to a renowned geisha house. Telling her story many years later from the Waldorf Astoria in New York, each page exquisitely evokes another culture, a different time and the details of an extraordinary way of life. It conjures up the perfection and the ugliness of life behind rice-paper screens, where young girls learn the arts of geisha: dancing and singing, how to wind the kimono, how to walk and pour tea, and how to beguile the most powerful men.


In Just One Day: The brand new unforgettable novel from TV wine expert Helen McGinn by [Helen McGinn]

In Just One Day by Helen McGinn

Flora has always adored her brother Billy. Born just eighteen months apart, their childhood was spent like two peas in a pod – no one could separate them. Now, as adults, they remain the best of friends. And as Flora is immersed in family life, Billy is always there to lend a hand.

But, in just one day, everything changes.

In just one day, Flora’s life falls apart.

In just one day, Flora has to learn how to live again.

From the nostalgia of seaside Britain to the breath-taking beauty of Venice, in tears and laughter, join Helen McGinn for this emotional, uplifting and joyful story about love in all its guises. But above all, this is an unforgettable story of one little girl and the brother she adored.


The Relentless Tide: A DCI Daley Thriller (Book 6) - Time and tide waits for no man - or woman by [Denzil Meyrick]

The Relentless Tide by Denzil Meyrick

When Professor Francombe and her team of archaeologists find the remains of three women on a remote Kintyre hillside – a site rumoured to have been the base of Viking warlord Somerled – their delight soon turns to horror when they realise the women tragically met their end little more than two decades ago. It soon becomes clear that these are the three missing victims of the ‘Midweek Murderer’, a serial killer who was at work in Glasgow in the early 1990s.

DCI Jim Daley now has the chance to put things right – to confront a nightmare from his past and solve a crime he failed to as a young detective. However, when Police Scotland’s Cold Case Unit arrive, they bring yet more ghosts to Kinloch.

A tale of death, betrayal, Viking treasure and revenge set in the thin places where past, present and future collide.


These choices are just the books that I’d be tempted by rather than just any books that are on offer.

The price quoted is that given at time of posting, please always check before buying as some prices can change quickly.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image.png

4 comments

  1. I’m so happy that I read your post today. My late mum was a fan of Hayley Mills (it’s where she first heard the name that I was given) and I felt really sad before Christmas on seeing that she had a book out and I couldn’t buy it for mum. Part of me wanted to buy it anyway but it seemed silly when mum is gone but now I’ve clicked to buy the kindle version for 99p today and it’s made me smile. I’m going to try and read it in January for my mum. 🙂 Happy new year! x

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think your mum and I would have got along. I loved Hayley Mills when I was younger and wanted to be her! I’ve bought it today too, for the memories. I’m glad it made you smile and hope it will bring happy thoughts of your mum when you read it. You can also get to know more about your namesake! Wishing you all the best for the coming year xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.