Jill’s Thursday Kindle Steals

Bargain Reads

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image.png

(NB This post features Affiliate links from which I earn a small commission on qualifying purchases)

A Wedding in the Country: From the #1 bestselling author of uplifting feel-good fiction by [Katie Fforde]

A Wedding in the Country by Katie Fforde

Lizzie has just arrived in London, determined to make the best of her new life.

Her mother may be keen that she should have a nice wedding in the country to a Suitable Man chosen by her. And Lizzie may be going to cookery school to help her become a Good Wife.

But she definitely wants to have some fun first.

It is 1963 and London is beginning to swing as Lizzie cuts her hair, buys a new dress with a fashionably short hemline, and moves in with two of her best friends, one of whom lives in a grand but rundown house in Belgravia which has plenty of room for a lodger.

Soon Lizzie’s life is so exciting that she has forgotten all about her mother’s marriage plans for her.

All she can think about is that the young man she is falling in love with appears to be engaged to someone else …


Isabelle in the Afternoon by [Douglas Kennedy]

Isabelle in the Afternoon by Douglas Kennedy

Before Isabelle I knew nothing of sex.
Before Isabelle I knew nothing of freedom.
Before Isabelle I knew nothing of life.

Paris in the early Seventies. Sam, an American student, meets a woman in a bookshop. Isabelle is enigmatic, beautiful, older and, unlike Sam, experienced in love’s many contradictions. Sam is instantly smitten – but wary of the wedding ring on her finger.

What begins as a regular arrangement in Isabelle’s tiny Parisian apartment transforms into a true affair of the heart, and one which lasts for decades to come.

Isabelle in the Afternoon is a novel that questions what we seek, what we find, what we settle for – and shows how love, when not lived day in, day out, can become the passion of a lifetime.


What Will Burn by James Oswald

The charred remains of an elderly woman are discovered in a burned out gamekeepers cottage, hidden away in woodland to the west of Edinburgh.

What is at first assumed to be a tragic accident begins to take on a more sinister aspect as Detective Inspector Tony McLean digs deeper.

There is far more to the victim than her humble surroundings suggest . . .


The Perfect Liar: A completely gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist by [Beverley Harvey]

The Perfect Liar by Beverley Harvey

‘Are you sure he’s someone you can trust? We know nothing at all about him. Who is he, really?’

Susanne and her two best friends need this holiday. Between bereavements, bad break-ups and an ex-husband getting remarried, the three of them have had a hard year. A month in Italy will be the perfect chance to relax and enjoy each other’s company. Then they meet Harry.

Handsome, charming and great company, Harry soon sweeps Susanne off her feet for a holiday fling. He is just what Susanne needs – except that everything he’s told them is a lie.

Who is the man they’ve let into their house – who Susanne has let into her bed? They have no idea what Harry is capable of – what he’s done to get this far, and what he’s prepared to do to ensure he gets his way.

By the time they find out, it will be too late to stop their dream holiday becoming a nightmare.


The Light We Left Behind: A totally gripping and heart-breaking ww2 historical fiction novel, based on a true story by [Tessa Harris]

The Light We Left Behind by Tessa Harris

England: 1944

When psychologist Maddie Gresham is sent a mysterious message telling her to report to Trent Park mansion, she wonders how she will be helping the war effort from a stately home.
 
She soon finds captured Nazi generals are being detained at the house. Bugged with listening devices in every room, it’s up to Maddie to gain the Nazis’ trust and coax them into giving up information.
 
When Max Weitzler, a Jewish refugee, also arrives at Trent Park with the same mission, Maddie finds herself trapped in a dangerous game of chess.

The two met in Germany before the war, and Maddie’s heart was his from the moment they locked eyes.

But Maddie has finally gained the trust of the Nazi officers at the house, and her love for Max must remain a secret.
 
When the walls have ears, who can you trust?

Based on the true events that took place at Trent Park during WWII, this is an emotionally gripping, and heart-breaking novel about love, sacrifice, and betrayal, perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Lost Girls of Paris.


These choices are just the books that I’d be tempted by rather than just any books that are on offer.

The price quoted is that given at time of posting, please always check before buying as some prices can change quickly.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.