Jill’s Wednesday Kindle Bargains

Today’s bargain Kindle offers – happy reading!

The books listed below are those that I’d be tempted by rather than a broad selection of all books that are on offer. Clicking on the Kindle will take you through to Amazon’s current Daily Deals.

The price quoted is that given at time of posting, please always check before buying as some prices can change quickly.

(NB This post features Affiliate links from which I earn a small commission on qualifying purchases)

Making It by Jay Blades

We had our hardships, and there were times that we didn’t have a lot of food and didn’t have a lot of money. But that didn’t stop me having the time of my life.

In his book, Jay shares the details of his life, from his childhood growing up sheltered and innocent on a council estate in Hackney, to his adolescence when he was introduced to violent racism at secondary school, to being brutalized by police as a teen, to finally becoming the presenter of the hit primetime show The Repair Shop.

Jay reflects on strength, weakness and what it means to be a man. He questions the boundaries society places on male vulnerability and how letting himself be nurtured helped him flourish into the person he is today. An expert at giving a second life to cherished items, Jay’s positivity, pragmatism and kindness shine through these pages and show that with care and love, anything can be mended.


The Teashop on the Corner by Milly Johnson

Life is full of second chances, if only you keep your heart open for them.

Spring Hill Square is a pretty sanctuary away from the bustle of everyday life. And at its centre is Leni Merryman‘s Teashop on the Corner, specialising in cake, bookish stationery and compassion. And for three people, all in need of a little TLC, it is somewhere to find a friend to lean on.

Carla Pride has just discovered that her late husband Martin was not who she thought he was. And now she must learn to put her marriage behind her and move forward.

Molly Jones‘s ex-husband Harvey has reappeared in her life after many years, wanting to put right the wrongs of the past before it is too late.

And Will Linton‘s business has gone bust and his wife has left him to pick up the pieces. Now he needs to gather the strength to start again.

Can all three find the comfort they are looking for in The Teashop on the Corner? And as their hearts are slowly mended by Leni, can they return the favour when she needs it most?


I Know What You’ve Done by Dorothy Koomson

On this street, everyone has something to hide.
And now someone knows their secrets…

Do you have any idea what the people you know are capable of? Bestselling author of All My Lies Are True, Dorothy Koomson, asks how well you can really know your neighbours. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Claire Douglas will rip through the pages of this addictive new thriller.

When Rae answers her front door one afternoon, her neighbour, Priscilla, thrusts a book into her hands before collapsing.

After Priscilla is rushed to hospital, Rae discovers the book is actually a diary full of their neighbours’ deepest secrets.

Rae knows she should hand the book over to the police investigating Priscilla’s attack … but she’s spotted her husband’s name in the diary and she needs to know what he – and everyone else – has done.

But if someone tried to kill Priscilla to keep their secret, how long before Rae is in danger, too?


The Moment I Met You by Debbie Johnson

It only takes a second
For life to change forever.

Elena Godwin could never have known that her dream holiday to Mexico would change her life forever. She thought that she was in charge of her own destiny. But on a gorgeous summer evening, her whole world is ripped from her feet in a single moment.

Ten years later, she still can’t forget the face of the stranger who held her whilst everything she knew was destroyed. Thrown back together again, Elena starts to uncover the truth around that fateful night – and questions whether she made the right decision all those years ago.

She only met him for a moment, but maybe it’s not too late…


The Queen’s Spy by Clare Marchant

A perilous mission. An unforgivable betrayal. A secret lost in time…

1584: Elizabeth I rules England. But a dangerous plot is brewing in court, and Mary Queen of Scots will stop at nothing to take her cousin’s throne.

There’s only one thing standing in her way: Tom, the queen’s trusted apothecary, who makes the perfect silent spy…

2021: Travelling the globe in her campervan, Mathilde has never belonged anywhere. So when she receives news of an inheritance, she is shocked to discover she has a family in England.

Just like Mathilde, the medieval hall she inherits conceals secrets, and she quickly makes a haunting discovery. Can she unravel the truth about what happened there all those years ago? And will she finally find a place to call home?


Click on the Kindle for all of today’s ‘Daily Deal’ books

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image.png

If you’ve thought about Kindle Unlimited but are not sure, you can click through the banner below for a 30 day trial offer (open to those who haven’t previously tried it. That said if it’s a while since you did, it’s worth a try – I’ve had a couple of trials)

Great benefits of Kindle Unlimited include:

– Unlimited Access to over 1 Million eBooks
– Rotating selection of popular magazines
– Thousands of books with audible narration
– Read anytime, on any device with the free Kindle app

After the 30-day free trial, the monthly subscription fee is £7.99 and members have the option to cancel their subscription anytime.

2 comments

    • I appreciate where you’re coming from and I do often feel conflicted about putting these posts together. To balance out my guilt I remind myself that the price is often reduced by the author themselves or the publisher; I have author’s letting me know when their books will be on offer and that the increase in sales can result in a big increase in income. I read a Which report that quoted an author seeing their sales increase from 40 per day to 640! I also remind myself that I’m not advocating books should be 99p, only sharing those that are, and that not sharing wouldn’t alter the price but might make an additional sale and introduce an author to a reader who then goes on to buy more of their work at a higher price. I think the bigger problem is that there are a number of publishers who offer books at 99p/£1.99 as their regular price, and that doesn’t help the discussion about raising prices. Given the current climate I suspect we’ll be seeing an increase in hard/paperback copies so perhaps that might raise the topic of eBook pricing again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.